2018 – A Rollercoaster Year

2018 was a very special year, a very busy year and a very hard year. But isn’t every year full of high and low points? It’s certainly a valid question as everyone experiences both positive and negative things in their lives. But for me, last year was not like any other year before it.

January

Grandad’s passing & Snow Bike Festival

The start of the year was anything but great, with the news of my grandfather’s death. He sadly lost his battle with cancer in early January. I was sad, missed him, and still miss him. Despite everything, I tried to focus on the upcoming Snow Bike Festival in Gstaad. I managed this quite well, and with an overall ranking of 4th,  I got my first UCI points of 2018.

February

Illness

Off to the training camp in Gran Canaria! I was really looking forward to the sun, the warm temperature and the “time-out”. At that point I was in the middle of my preparations for the upcoming final apprenticeship exams. It was good to have nothing on my plate for a while and to focus purely on training. Unfortunately, I fell ill after the first week and this illness then dragged on for another two weeks. Déja-vu!  Lots of stress at home, a lot going on and not much time to recover. At the training camp then 100% focus on training and recovery and suddenly you’re ill. A well-known phenomenon.

March

Self-sabotage

An early start to the season! The anticipation of the World Cup in Stellenbosch, South Africa was huge. Compared to last year, I had to be much fitter and stronger. Okay, I had a cold, but there was no more going around on crutches for 4 months. The lengthening of my leg was now history and I had put 2016/17 behind me. It was good to finally get away from the cold, nasty weather. Although the change in temperature from -10°C in Switzerland, to +35°C in Stellenbosch certainly took some getting used to. I was excited to finally be back on the start line and even more so to be in South Africa. My expectations and my aims were high. The route was top, the weather was top, and my motivation levels were right at the top. This just made the disappointment all the greater when I crossed the finish line in 2nd  last position. I didn’t know what had happened. Numerous questions shot through my mind. What have I been doing all winter? Why am I so bad? How can I qualify for the Swiss World Championships like this? The doubts and the self-sabotage began.

Back in Switzerland, it didn’t get any better. Going from lovely warm weather back to grim, wet cold didn’t exactly do anything to improve my mood. Sure, as an athlete you learn that training can’t always happen in the sunshine, but combined with my self-doubts, a depressive mood was looming.

April

Too much

I didn’t feel well, physically and emotionally. I was stressed about the upcoming final apprenticeship exams, competitions, and my driving test. “2018 was supposed to be my year. I must take part in the Lenzerheide World Championships!”. Many thoughts like this revolved around my head. Caught in this downward spiral, I felt worse and worse.

Anonymous letter

The anonymous letter that I received at this stage also did nothing to make things better. Nobody is perfect and everyone can learn something new. It is also clear that nobody likes everyone to the same degree. But to express this in an anonymous letter is low, cowardly and just wrong. Those who know me, know that my family is very important to me. This means it saddens me all the more, when someone talks ill of them, or insults them. My parents in particular, who contribute so much to our sport, do not deserve such an insult. I hope that the person concerned thinks carefully next time, about the effect his or her words can have on other people.

Under attack physically and mentally

On top of all this, then the physical problems started. Day in, day out, I got up in the morning with heavy legs, from too much lactic acid, and feeling tired. Regardless of how much or how little, how hard or lightly I trained, heavy legs. The daily back pain and headaches were sometimes barely tolerable. I reduced my training, but it didn’t get any better. Heavy legs when I got up, heavy legs climbing stairs, heavy legs when training and heavy legs going to bed. I skipped the Swiss Bike Cup in Schaan and sought medical attention. Blood tests showed an iron deficiency. “Good, at least that is something that can be resolved,” I thought. Yet some time after having iron infusions, I still didn’t feel much better. Still I had heavy legs when I got up, heavy legs climbing stairs, heavy legs when training and heavy legs going to bed. I was distraught, didn’t know what I should do. At this point, I had already reduced training to a minimum. Further medical tests followed. “Ramona, you are healthy. There’s nothing wrong with you!” This was my sports doctor’s evaluation and conclusion. I didn’t know what to do next. I just wanted a diagnosis, something concrete, clarification. The season continued and I still wasn’t feeling any better.

May

Mudbath

At the World Cup in Albstadt and Nové Mêsto, there were two important World Championship-qualifying races on the programme. I still had heavy legs. I tried to accept my form, tried to accept that I wasn’t at the level I’d like to be. The mudbath in Albstadt did me a favour and helped me achieve qualification for the World Championships for the first time, finishing in 22nd place. But I couldn’t rest on my laurels. “Achieving the qualification criteria does not mean direct qualification to the Championships.” This is what our organisation, Swiss Cycling, specifies. What that means for me? Even though I had achieved the criteria, this did not mean that I had actually qualified. With the defeat in Nové Mêsto (flat tyre and mechanical problems with my bike), I slid further along the downward spiral.

June

No WHEELER Pro team any more!

I decided to miss the Swiss Bike Cup in Gränichen and concentrate on my final apprenticeship exams. I had only just got these over and done with, when the next bad news arrived. My team, the WHEELER Pro team was being disbanded. A shock! This was completely unexpected and a total surprise. I would have to look for a new team for 2019 as well. “Great,” I thought. Yet more pressure to get good results. I had over three weeks to recover and get myself into shape before the next race, the Swiss Championship. In recent months I hadn’t been able to train as well as I would have liked because of my physical and emotional problems. You can imagine how hard this was for me. I wanted to train, I wanted to put my foot down and suffer, but my body and my head wouldn’t allow it. In the last few months I had also been feeling very alone and misunderstood. I wasn’t enjoying daily life, didn’t know how to carry on, negativity was taking over. It seemed as though I couldn’t talk to anyone. Hardly anyone knew how bad I was feeling. I needed to help myself. But how on earth would I go about this?

Sleeping at altitude on Niesen

The topic of altitude training came up in relation to the World Cup in Vallnord (Andorra), which takes place at around 2000 metres above sea level (MAMSL). In a cloak-and-dagger operation, my father was able to arrange altitude sleeping on our local mountain, the Niesen (2362 MAMSL). I was looking forward to the new experience, the mountain air and the view. I was looking forward to getting some distance. For me, the “live high-train low” model meant working

& training down in the valley and sleeping up on Niesen at night. I finally saw some light at the end of the tunnel. The fresh mountain air, the view and the peace at 2362 MAMSL helped me find myself. Down below it was very stressful. The first and last train times were fixed of course, and so my time down below was very limited. But up on the mountain I had peace and quiet, I had some distance between me and the rest of the world. At this point in time, this was just the balsam my soul needed. My day looked something like this: get up, 30-min train journey down to the bottom, work for about 3 hours, off to training, rush to catch the last train at 5pm, 30-min train journey up, relax, switch off, read a book, think, sleep. At last, I gradually started to feel better.

Swiss Championship

At the Swiss Championship in Andermatt I finally felt as though I could perform again. Even the back pain and the self-doubts had lessened. What’s more, I had passed my EFZ (Swiss Proficiency Certificate) apprenticeship in business with a grade of 5.2. When I think back now, it’s daft how worried I was about getting a bad grade. The graduation celebration was one of the best experiences in a long time. To have finally completed the four years was an indescribable feeling.

July

Bad luck in Val di Sole

The positive vibes carried on to the next World Cup in Vale di Sole (Italy). I was feeling much better physically as well as emotionally. I felt ready. Ready to perform. Unfortunately, I had a mechanical problem. The screw on the front derailleur had come loose which made changing gear impossible for me. So unfortunately I didn’t get a great result. I didn’t let it bother me because I could feel how my form had improved and this was more important to me at this point than any kind of number or result.

Next race, next chance

I carried on, in the direction of Vallnord, Andorra. The positive thoughts returned. No longer was everything rubbish, bad and negative. My goal, to qualify for the World Championships on home turf, had become realistic again. Before the race I was less nervous than usual, which I couldn’t really explain. After all, this was the last World Championship-qualifying race. In order to qualify, I needed to show once again what I was capable of. I needed to deliver and achieve a good result. On the evening before the race, I sat on a blanket on the grass, enjoying the view, the peace, the fresh air and internalising the following: “Ramona, you have prepared well at altitude. You like the course. Enjoy the race and just give it your all. You can’t do any more than that!” And that is exactly what I did. With an amazing 20th place, I qualified for the World Championships for the second time. A few days later, I also got the confirmation. I really had qualified for the event of the year, the World Championships at Lenzerheide. I was overjoyed!

August

Unachieved goals in Canada

The next journey was approaching. I was going to Mont-Sainte-Anne, Canada, for the next World Cup. The feeling of anticipation for the technically and physically demanding course was huge. A year previously, I had achieved my first top 15 result at a World Cup there. Once again I put myself under excessive pressure, wanted too much and was very disappointed with my performance. Back pain, which had been bothering me all season, plagued me and my legs were once again not strong enough. Self-doubts and pointless thoughts spun around my head once more.

Breathlessness

At the next World Cup in La Bresse it got even worse. I had another new problem, my breathing. It’s difficult to describe what happened. I kept getting the feeling that I couldn’t get enough oxygen. Whether training or lying in bed. Falling asleep was hell for me. I was wheezing, gasping for breath, and continually felt as though I was suffocating. All day, my focus was almost completely just on breathing. I was still gasping for breath during the competition and breathing irregularly which led to terrible stitch. Another competition where the disappointment was high. Yet the World Championships were getting closer, making the pressure ever higher. “You must deliver at the World Championships, Ramona!”

September

World Championships Lenzerheide

Just a few days until the World Championships. It will soon be the moment, the event that I have been working and fighting for all year. The whole thing was an unbelievable and unimaginable experience. The people, the atmosphere! You can’t put it into words. Even if I wasn’t at all happy with the result, I was still happy to have been able to be part of the World Championships 2018, after the season I had leading up to it.

A great ending

So, there was now just the Swisscup in Carona, Lugano left on the programme. With the World Championships over, a great weight fell from my shoulders. I had put myself under so much pressure all year to achieve my goal, that I had lost sight of the important things. Fun, passion, enjoyment. I didn’t really train (much) for Lugano. The fire had gone out. “I’ll still do the race,” I thought. But, when I stood on the start line, the fire burned inside. I was excited about the great course and just wanted to enjoy the last race and have fun. That’s exactly what I did. And that’s how I achieved one of the best results of my entire season.

October

Off to Ecuador

Finally holidays! After such a year, I was really looking forward to some time out. And I indulged myself. I travelled to Ecuador for 2 weeks. There I spent 9 days on the Galapagos Islands. A paradise for all animal and nature lovers.

New Swiss MTB Pro team

It is official! A completely new team is going to be put together for the next season, the Swiss MTB Pro team powered by STOLL. The idea came about as my father and I were discussing sponsoring and teams last summer on a bike trip. Until I knew which team I would be in and what kind of obligations and conditions I would be under, I couldn’t start negotiations with my private sponsors. We also talked about how a new team could be advantageous for me. New team, new responsibility, new people and new experiences. This would certainly be an important and educational step for me, because ever since I’d been mountain bike riding, my parents had always been at my side. So, to experience something different, would certainly not do any harm. However, you can’t lose sight of the financial aspect in all this. After all, I want to be able to make a living from this and not be on the breadline. Then there’s the loyalty towards my private sponsors. With new teams you can sometimes get lots of guidelines on dos and don’ts yourself, but without getting much from it financially. Athletes are sometimes very restricted on where they can place their private sponsors’ logos (if at all). Yet these are the people who are my biggest and most important financial support. So this is the question, do I join a team where I would get the personal support, or do I carry on alone (with the support of my parents) and have absolute freedom to decide which races I ride, which materials I use and where I place my sponsors’ logos? In the end, neither of the two alternatives was an option. A third, new, and initially unthinkable alternative came into being, the Swiss MTB Pro team powered by STOLL.

November

Starting a new job

Having finished my apprenticeship on 31.07.2018, I began a new job at armasuisse. I have been working there on a part-time (40%) basis since then.

December

It’s Christmas!

Those who know me, know how much I love Christmas time. For me it’s about more than swapping presents and taking part in all the different kinds of Christmas events and eating. No, it’s more about the whole atmosphere. The lights that twinkle in the darkness and light up the houses. The scents of cinnamon, aniseed and nutmeg that fly around in the air. The Christmas markets with their special charm and delicious mulled wine. The secret lies in not getting stressed, planning in advance and simply enjoying it!

 

In my 2018 there were plenty of low points and the year didn’t go at all as I’d imagined it. As the saying goes, “it always turns out differently, and never as you think.” Despite everything, this was one of the most educational years of my sporting career. I met a lot of people, travelled to many places and enjoyed 3 weeks of mountain air on Niesen. The year also had its positive sides throughout. As I said at the start, everyone experiences both positive and negative things in their lives.

 

 

Share Post :

Weitere Beiträge:

2018 – Ein Jahr auf der Achterbahn

Das Jahr 2018 war ein sehr spezielles Jahr, ein sehr beschäftigtes Jahr und ein sehr hartes Jahr. Doch wird nicht jedes Jahr durch Höhepunkte und Tiefschläge geprägt? Wohl eine berechtigte Frage, denn jeder Mensch erlebt Positives und Negatives in seinem Leben. Das vergangene Jahr jedoch war für mich, wie kein anderes bisher.

Januar

Tod Grosspapi & Snow Bike Festival

Mit der Nachricht des Todes meines Grossvaters, begann das Jahr alles andere als schön. Er hatte anfangs Januar den Kampf gegen den Krebs leider verloren. Ich war traurig, vermisste ihn, vermisse ihn immer noch. Trotz allem versuchte ich mich auf das kommende Snow Bike Festival in Gstaad zu fokussieren. Dies gelang mir relativ gut, denn mit dem 4. Gesamtrang holte ich die ersten UCI Punkte im 2018.

Februar

Erkrankung

Ab nach Gran Canaria ins Trainingslager! Ich freute mich sehr auf die Sonne, die Wärme und die „Auszeit“. Denn ich befand mich zu diesem Zeitpunkt mitten in der Vorbereitung für die kommenden Lehrabschlussprüfungen. Es tat gut mal nichts um die Ohren zu haben und den Fokus voll auf das Training zu legen. Leider wurde ich nach einer Woche krank und verschleppte dies dann weitere zwei Wochen. Déja-vu!  Zuhause viel Stress, viel um die Ohren und wenig Zeit für die Erholung. Im Trainingslager dann die hundertprozentige Fokussierung auf das Training und die Erholung und plötzlich wird man krank. Ein bekanntes Phänomen.

März

Selbstsabotage

Ein früher Saisonstart! Die Vorfreude für den Weltcup in Stellenbosch, Südafrika war riesig. Im Vergleich zum letzten Jahr müsste ich viel fitter und stärker sein. Okay ich hatte eine Erkältung, aber ging nicht mehr 4 Monaten an Krücken. Meine Beinverlängerung war Geschichte und hatte ich 2016/17 hinter mich gebracht. Endlich dem garstigen und kalten Wetter zu entfliehen tat gut. Wobei die Temperatur-Unterschiede von -10°C in der Schweiz, zu +35°C in Stellenbosch schon gewöhnungsbedürftig waren. Ich freute mich endlich wieder an der Startlinie zu stehen und dann erst recht noch in Südafrika. Meine Erwartungen und meine Ziele waren hoch. Die Strecke war top, das Wetter war top und meine Motivation war on the top. Umso grösser war die Enttäuschung, als ich die Ziellinie auf dem 2. Letzten Rang überquerte. Ich wusste nicht, wie mir geschah. Etliche Fragen schossen mir durch den Kopf. Was habe ich den ganzen Winter gemacht? Warum bin ich so schlecht? Wie soll ich mich so für die Heim-Weltmeisterschaft qualifizieren? Das Zweifeln und die Selbstsabotage begann.
Zurück in der Schweiz wurde es nicht besser. Vom schönen, warmen Wetter wieder ins kalte grauenvolle Nass half nicht gerade meine Stimmung zu bessern. Klar, als Athlet lernt man, dass das Training nicht immer bei Sonnenschein stattfinden kann. Doch zusammen mit meinen Selbstzweifeln bahnte sich eine depressive Stimmung an.

April

Zu viel

Ich fühlte mich physisch und psychisch nicht gut. Machte mir Druck für die kommenden Lehrabschlussprüfungen, für die Wettkämpfe und für die Autoprüfung. „2018 sollte mein Jahr sein. An der WM in der Lenzerheide muss ich teilnehmen!“. Viele solche Gedanken kreisten in meinem Kopf. In dieser Abwärtsspirale gefangen, ging es mir immer schlechter.

Anonymer Brief

Der anonyme Brief, den ich in dieser Phase erhielt, machte es auch nicht besser. Niemand ist perfekt und jeder kann noch dazulernen. Es ist auch klar, dass sich nicht alle Menschen gleich mögen. Doch dies mit einem anonymen Brief zum Ausdruck zu bringen, ist niveaulos, feige und einfach nur daneben. Wer mich kennt, weiss, dass meine Familie einen hohen Stellenwert in meinem Leben hat. Es geht mir also umso näher, wenn jemand schlecht über sie redet oder sie beleidigt. Gerade meine Eltern, welche viel zu unserem Sport beitragen, haben eine solche Beleidigung nicht verdient. Ich hoffe, der/die Betreffende überlegt sich das nächste Mal genau, was seine Worte bei jemand anderem auslösen können.

Körperlich und mental am Anschlag

Dazu kamen schliesslich körperliche Probleme. Tagein tagaus stand ich am Morgen auf, hatte saure Beine und war müde. Egal wie viel oder wie wenig, wie hart oder wie locker ich trainierte, saure Beine. Die täglichen Rückenschmerzen und Kopfschmerzen waren teilweise kaum aushaltbar. Ich reduzierte das Training, doch es wurde nicht besser. Saure Beine beim Aufstehen, saure Beine beim Treppen steigen, saure Beine beim Trainieren und saure Beine beim zu Bette gehen. Ich liess den Swiss Bike Cup in Schaan aus und machte ärztliche Abklärung. Die Blutanalyse wies einen Eisenmangel auf. „Gut, wenigstens etwas, dass man beheben kann“, dachte ich. Doch auch einige Zeit nach den Eisen-Infusionen ging es mir nicht viel besser. Wieder, saure Beine beim Aufstehen, saure Beine beim Treppen steigen, saure Beine beim Trainieren und saure Beine beim zu Bette gehen. Ich war verzweifelt, wusste nicht was ich tun soll. Das Training habe ich in dieser Zeit schon auf ein Minimum reduziert. Weitere medizinische Tests folgten. „Ramona du bist gesund. Dir fehlt nichts!“. So die Aussage und Auswertung meiner Sportärztin. Ich wusste nicht mehr wie weiter. Wollte ich doch nur eine Diagnose, etwas Handfestes, Klarheit. Die Saison ging weiter und besser ging es mir immer noch nicht.

Mai

Schlammschlacht

Mit dem Weltcup in Albstadt und Nové Mêsto standen zwei wichtige Qualifikationsrennen für die WM auf dem Programm. Die sauren Beine waren nach wie vor aktuell. Ich versuchte meine Form zu akzeptieren, versuchte zu akzeptieren nicht das gewünschte Niveau zu haben. Die Schlammschlacht in Albstadt kam mir zu Gute und somit erreichte ich mit dem 22. Rang das erste Mal die Qualifikation für die WM. Nur auf seinen Lorbeeren ausruhen ging nicht. „Das Erreichen der Qualifikationskriterien bedeutet nicht die direkte Qualifikation für die Meisterschaft“. So wird es von unserem Verband, Swiss Cycling vorgegeben. Was das für mich bedeutet? Auch wenn ich das Kriterium erreicht hatte, hiess dies nicht, dass ich auch qualifiziert war. Mit der Niederlage in Nové Mêsto (Plattfuss und mechanische Probleme am Bike) rutschte ich tiefer in die Abwärtsspirale.

Juni

Kein WHEELER Pro Team mehr!

Ich beschloss auf den Swiss Bike Cup in Gränichen zu verzichten und mich auf die Lehrabschlussprüfungen zu konzentrieren. Kaum hatte ich diese hinter mich gebracht, kam die nächste unerfreuliche Nachricht. Mein Team, das WHEELER Pro Team, werde geschlossen. Ein Schock! Dies kam total unerwartet und überraschend. Per 2019 konnte ich mir also auch noch ein neues Team suchen. „Toll“, dachte ich. Noch mehr Druck gute Resultate zu bringen. Bis zum nächsten Rennen, der Schweizermeisterschaft, hatte ich über drei Wochen Zeit, mich zu erholen respektive in Form zu kommen. Die vergangenen Monate konnte ich aufgrund meiner physisch und psychischen Probleme nicht so trainieren, wie ich dies gerne gewollt hätte. Man muss sich vorstellen wie hart dies für mich war. Ich wollte trainieren, ich wollte Gas geben und leiden, doch mein Körper und mein Kopf liessen es nicht zu. Ebenfalls fühlte ich mich in den letzten Monaten sehr einsam und unverstanden. Ich hatte keine Freude im täglichen Leben, wusste nicht wie weiter, das Negative überwog. Es schien, als könnte ich mit niemanden reden. Kaum jemand wusste wie schlecht es mir ging. Ich musste mir selber helfen. Doch wie in aller Welt sollte das gehen?

Höhenschlafen Niesen

In Hinblick auf den Weltcup in Vallnord (Andorra), welcher auf ungefähr 2’000MüM stattfand, kam das Thema Höhentraining auf. In einer Nacht-und-Nebel-Aktion konnte mein Vater ein Höhenschlafen auf unserem Hausberg, dem Niesen (2362MüM) arrangieren. Ich freute mich auf die neue Erfahrung, auf die Bergluft, die Aussicht. Ich freute mich, etwas Abstand zu haben. Die „live high-train low“ Variante bedeutete für mich: unten im Tal
arbeiten & trainieren und oben auf dem Niesen schlafen. Endlich sah ich einen Licht am Ende des Tunnels. Die frische Bergluft, die Aussicht und die Ruhe auf 2’362MüM half, zu mir zu finden. Unten war es sehr stressig. Die erste und letzte Bahnfahrt war natürlich vorgegeben und somit war meine Zeit unten sehr beschränkt. Oben auf dem Berg hatte ich jedoch meine Ruhe, ich hatte Abstand zum Rest der Welt. Genau das war zu diesem Zeitpunkt Balsam für meine Seele. Mein Tag sah ungefähr so aus: Aufstehen, 30min Bahnfahrt runter, Arbeiten ca. 3h, ab ins Training, beeilen um die letzte Bahn um 17:00 Uhr zu erwischen, 30min Bahnfahrt hoch, entspannen, abschalten, ein Buch lesen, nachdenken, schlafen. Nach und nach fühlte ich mich endlich besser.

Schweizermeisterschaft

An der Schweizermeisterschaft in Andermatt hatte ich endlich das Gefühl wieder leisten zu können. Auch die Rückenschmerzen und die Selbstzweifel wurden weniger. Übrigens habe ich meine Berufslehre Kauffrau EFZ mit Note 5.2 abgeschlossen. Wenn ich jetzt so drüber nachdenke, ist es dämlich, was für Sorgen ich mir damals über eine schlechte Note gemacht habe. Die Lehrabschlussfeier war eines der schönsten und besten Ereignisse seit langem. Die vier Jahre endlich geschafft zu haben war ein unbeschreibliches Gefühl.

Juli

Pech in Val di Sole

Mit positiven Vibes ging es auch schon nach Val di Sole (Italien) an den nächsten Weltcup. Körperlich wie auch mental ging es mir schon viel besser. Ich fühlte mich bereit. Bereit zu leisten. Leider hatte ich einen mechanischen Defekt. Die Schraube des Umwerfers hatte sich gelöst, was das Schalten für mich unmöglich machte. So erreichte ich leider kein gutes Resultat. Ich liess mich davon nicht beeinflussen, denn für mich zählte das Gefühl meiner positiven Form-Entwicklung zu diesem Zeitpunkt mehr, als irgendeine Zahl oder ein Resultat.

Nächstes Rennen, nächste Chance

Es ging weiter Richtung Vallnord, Andorra. Das positive Denken kehrte zurück. Es war nicht mehr alles Scheisse, schlecht und negativ. Mein Ziel, mich für die Heim-WM zu qualifizieren, ist wieder realistisch geworden. Vor dem Rennen war ich weniger nervös als sonst, was ich mir selbst nicht ganz erklären konnte. Denn dies war das letzte Quali-Rennen für die Weltmeisterschaften. Um mich zu qualifizieren, musste ich nochmals zeigen, was ich draufhabe. Ich musste abliefern und ein gutes Resultat erzielen. Ich setzte mich am Abend vor dem Rennen mit einem Tuch ins Gras, genoss die Aussicht, die Ruhe, die frische Luft und verinnerlichte folgendes: „Ramona du hast dich gut in der Höhe vorbereitet. Die Strecke gefällt dir. Geniesse das Rennen und gib einfach alles was du hast. Mehr als das kannst du nicht tun!“. Und genau das tat ich. Mit dem tollen 20. Rang erreichte ich zum 2. Mal die WM-Quali. Einige Tage später hatte ich dann auch endlich die Gewissheit. Ich war tatsächlich für den Event des Jahres qualifiziert, die Weltmeisterschaften auf der Lenzerheide. Freude herrschte!

August

Unerreichte Ziele in Kanada

Die nächste Reise stand an. Es ging nach Mont-Sainte-Anne, Canada an den nächsten Weltcup. Die Vorfreude auf die technisch und physisch anspruchsvolle Strecke war riesig. Ein Jahr zuvor erreichte ich dort mein erstes top 15 Resultat an einem Weltcup. Wiedermal machte ich mir übermässig Druck, wollte zu viel und war über meine Leistung sehr enttäuscht. Rückenschmerzen, welche mich schon die ganze Saison begleiteten, plagten mich und meine Beine waren wieder nicht stark genug. Erneute Selbstzweifel und sinnlose Gedanken wirbelten durch meinen Kopf.

Kurzatmigkeit

Am nächsten Weltcup in La Bresse wurde es wieder schlimmer. Ich hatte ein weiteres, neues Problem, meine Atmung. Schwierig zu beschreiben, was da ablief. Dauernd hatte ich das Gefühl nicht genügend Sauerstoff zu kriegen. Egal ob beim Trainieren oder beim Liegen im Bett. Das Einschlafen war für mich die Höhle. Ich japste nach Luft, schnaufte ein und aus und hatte immer ein erstickendes Gefühl. Meine Fokussierung lag den ganzen Tag fast nur auf dem Atmen. Auch während dem Wettkampf japste ich nach Luft, atmete unregelmässig, was zu starkem Seitenstechen führte. Ein Wettkampf mehr, bei dem die Enttäuschung hoch war. Zudem kam die Weltmeisterschaft immer näher, womit der Druck auch wieder zunahm. „An der WM musst du abliefern Ramona!“.

September

Weltmeisterschaft Lenzerheide

Nur noch ein paar Tage bis zur WM. Schon bald kommt der Moment, der Event, für den ich das ganze Jahr gekämpft und gearbeitet habe. Das Ganze war ein unglaubliches und unvorstellbares Erlebnis. Diese Leute, diese Atmosphäre! Das kann man nicht in Worte fassen. Auch wenn ich mit dem Resultat hinten und vorne nicht zufrieden war, war ich dennoch glücklich, nach so einer prägenden Saison ein Teil der WM 2018 gewesen zu sein dürfen.

Ein toller Abschluss

Nun stand nur noch der Swisscup in Carona, Lugano auf dem Programm. Als die WM durch war, fiel auf die eine Art eine grosse Last ab meinen Schultern. Das ganze Jahr machte ich mir so viel Druck, mein Ziel zu erreichen, dass ich das wesentliche aus den Augen verlor. Spass, Passion, Freude. Für Lugano habe ich nicht mehr besonders (viel) trainiert. Die Luft war draussen. „Das Rennen fahre ich halt noch“, dachte ich. Doch als ich dort an der Startlinie stand, brennte das innere Feuer. Ich freute mich auf die tolle Strecke und wollte das letzte Rennen einfach geniessen und Spass haben. Und das tat ich auch. Somit erreichte ich eines der besten Resultate meiner ganzen Saison.

Oktober

Ab nach Ecuador

Endlich Ferien! Nach diesem prägenden Jahr, freute ich mich auf eine Auszeit. Diese gönnte ich mir auch. Ich reiste für 2 Wochen nach Ecuador. Dort verbrachte ich 9 Tage auf den Galapagos-Inseln. Ein Paradies für alle Tier-und Naturliebhaber.

Neues Swiss MTB Pro Team

Es ist offiziell! Für die nächste Saison wird ein komplett neues Team aufgebaut, das Swiss MTB Pro Team powered by STOLL. Die Idee wurde geboren, als mein Vater und ich im vergangenen Sommer auf einer Bike-Ausfahrt waren und über Sponsoring und Teams diskutierten. Solange ich nicht wusste in welches Team ich gehen werde und was ich dort für Verpflichtungen und Bedingungen haben werde, konnte ich mit meinen privaten Sponsoren keine Vertragsverhandlungen machen. Ebenfalls sprachen wir darüber, inwiefern ein neues Team für mich von Vorteil sein könnte. Neues Team, neue Verantwortung, neue Leute und neue Erfahrungen. Dies wäre sicherlich ein wichtiger und lehrreicher Schritt für mich. Denn seit ich Mountainbike fahre, waren meine Eltern immer an meiner Seite. Dort eine Änderung zu erleben, hätte sicherlich nicht geschadet. Bei dem Ganzen darf man aber auch den finanziellen Aspekt nicht ausser Auge lassen. Ich will schliesslich davon leben können und nicht am Hungertuch nagen. Hinzu kommt die Treue zu meinen privaten Sponsoren. Bei neuen Teams kann es vorkommen, dass man selber viele Vorgaben über do’s and dont’s bekommt, jedoch finanziell kaum was davon hat. Athleten werden teilweise sehr eingeschränkt, wo sie die Logos der privaten Sponsoren platzieren dürfen (wenn überhaupt). Diese sind nun mal diejenigen, welche finanzielle mehrheitlich meine grösste und wichtigste Stütze sind. Da stellt sich die Frage, gehe ich in ein Team, wo ich zwar den Support und die personelle Unterstützung habe, oder fahre ich alleine weiter (mit der Unterstützung meiner Eltern) und habe die absolute Entscheidungsfreiheit, welche Rennen ich fahre, welches Material ich fahre und wo ich die Logos meiner Sponsoren platziere. Keine der zwei Varianten standen schlussendlich zur Wahl. Ein Dritte, neue und anfangs undenkbare Variante wurde geboren, dass Swiss MTB Pro Team powered by STOLL.

November

Beginn neue Stelle

Nachdem ich meine Berufslehre am 31.07.2018 abgeschlossen hatte, begann ich bei der armasuisse eine neue Arbeitsstelle. Dort arbeite ich seither 40%.

Dezember

Es weihnachtet!

Wer mich kennt, weiss wie sehr ich die Weihnachtszeit liebe. Für mich ist diese Zeit mehr als nur Geschenke austauschen und an den verschiedensten Weihnachts-Events-und -Essen teilnehmen. Nein, es ist vielmehr die ganze Atmosphäre. Die Lichter, welche in der Dunkelheit funkeln und die Häuser beleuchten. Die Gerüche von Zimt, Anis und Muskat, welche in der Luft liegen. Die Weihnachtsmärkte mit ihrem besonderen Charme und dem leckeren Glühwein. Das Geheimnis liegt darin, sich nicht zu stressen, voraus zu planen und einfach zu geniessen!
In meinem 2018 gab es viele Tiefpunkte und das Jahr ist überhaupt nicht so verlaufen, wie ich mir das vorgestellt habe. „Erstens kommt es anders und zweitens wie man denkt“. Trotz allem war dies eines der lehrreichsten Jahre überhaupt in meine Sport-Karriere. Ich traf viele Menschen, reiste an viele Orte und genoss während 3 Wochen die Bergluft auf dem Niesen. Das Jahr hatte also durchaus auch seine positiven Seiten. Wie anfangs gesagt, jeder Mensch erlebt Positives und Negatives in seinem Leben.

Share Post :

Weitere Beiträge: